Welcome to Tenders Lounge… where goalies can hang out

Welcome to Tenders Lounge! The inspiration for Tenders Lounge came from a number of different people and ideas, including watching Ken Dryden’s jersey retirement ceremony last year. When I was a kid my dad got me and a friend into the Hot Stove Lounge in the old Maple Leaf Gardens one afternoon. I got to meet Mike Palmateer, and I remember watching him chat ‘off the record’ with the Leafs beat writers and the guys from Hockey Night in Canada. I was enthralled. Not only did I meet my favorite goalie at the time but I got behind the scenes of NHLers interacting with management and the press.

That memory has never left me and now as you read Tenders Lounge I guess you can think of it as the Hot Stove for Goalies. It’s a place for goalie interviews, profiles and stories. More precisely, it’s my attempt at extending the memory of that afternoon 30 years ago and letting the goalie community do the same.

2 Comments

  1. your stories have brought back fond memories, especially sitting you down to watch the 72 serries … Also held you up for the moon landing but 72 was far better

  2. Gerber’s mask very cool, Saw it last night when they played Montreal and it has the Sen Head logo on the side as well. He seems to be playing better…the mask or lack of Ray


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

